Our History

The rich history and humble beginnings of Eastern Niagara Hospital's two sites recognize the significant accomplishments of community volunteers and local physicians. Eastern Niagara Hospital has experienced many changes in the delivery of health care including advancements in medicine and medical technology, enhancements in patient care, improvements in the structural facilities and most recently the merger of the former Lockport Memorial Hospital and Inter-Community Memorial Hospital. Eastern Niagara Hospital and the community can take pride in this heritage and look forward to continued strength and viability for a progressive health care system.

Lockport Site ~ Opened in 1908:

In 1905 the Ladies Hospital Aid Association raised $5,000 for the building of a Hospital in the Lockport community. This amount was matched by the City of Lockport. The Hospital charter was signed on April 20, 1908 and the officers of the Ladies Hospital Aid Association became members of the first board of managers. Lockport City Hospital, as it was first known, opened on July 1, 1908 with accommodations for 18 patients. The Hospital Guild continues today as an advocacy and fundraising organization dedicated exclusively to supporting the mission of the Hospital.

Major building or renovation projects followed from 1938-1983. In 1959 the Hospital name was changed to Lockport Memorial Hospital by the Lockport Common Council. In 1979, ownership of LMH was transferred to a not-for-profit corporation with a community driven Board of Directors.

Inter-Community Memorial Hospital ~ Opens its doors fifty years later

The establishment of Inter-Community Memorial Hospital (ICMH) in Newfane began with the aspirations of three local physicians -- Dr. Walter Altbach, Dr. John Argue and Dr. Mabel Carmer-Hill. In 1952, these physicians voiced their concerns to the public about the need for another hospital closer to Lake and recommended that the region establish its own community hospital. They received overwhelming support from fellow citizens.

After numerous fund drives and many generous contributions, the funds needed to construct the facility were raised and on September 17, 1958, Inter-Community Memorial Hospital opened its doors to the community.

Several renovation projects took place during the next five decades resulting in the 71-bed facility present today.

LMH and ICMH Partner to Meet the Health Care Industry's Challenges

In a strategic and unprecedented effort to meet the challenges of the health care industry, the Boards of Directors of Inter-Community Memorial Hospital and Lockport Memorial Hospital made the decision to effect a legal affiliation between the two health care providers in 1999. Together, with the Newfane Rehabilitation & Health Care Center, the Eastern Niagara Health System resulted.

In 2009, following the recommendation of the Berger Commission, the Hospitals completed a full asset merger. Eastern Niagara Hospital was established as a result of the merger. The Hospital now operates as one entity with a Lockport site and Inter-Community site, as well as several outpatient facilities. This merger was the next logical step in the partnership which created a streamlined governance, further financial economies of scale and strengthened the entire Eastern Niagara Health System's ability to meet the community's health care needs well into the future. 

ENH Leadership ~

Board of Directors:

Eastern Niagara Hospital is governed by a voluntary Board of Directors consisting of the following individuals from the community:

Christopher E. Beney, MD

James E. Ferington, DDS

David E. Godfrey

Martin R. Horanburg

Anne McCaffrey

Ann Briody Petock

Steven Sinclair

D. Michael Slate, MD

Jennifer Stoll

Rocco Surace, Chairman

Margaret Thompson


Administration  -   (716) 514-5501

The Hospital's Administration includes:

Anne McCaffrey, President & Chief Executive Officer

D. Michael Slate, M.D., Medical Director

David J. DiBacco, Chief Operating Officer

Maralyn Militello, Senior Director of Nursing

David Henry, Director of Finance

Patricia Uldrich, Assistant Administrator for Quality Assurance

Laurie Haight, Quality Assurance Director

Carolyn A. Moore, Director of Community Relations

Autumn Badillo, Human Resources Director

Jessica Landers, Corporate Compliance Director